Class Material


Return To Index


Section 19

Air Pollution Control

19.2 Exceptions

  1. Wholesale vehicle exception: Vehicles sold at wholesale between dealers do not require smog tests. [V.C. §24007]
  2. Sale to Lessee exception: Vehicles sold directly from lessor to a lessee in possession do not require smog tests. [VIN 98-27]
  3. New Law: On September 23, 2004, Governor Schwarzenegger signed Assembly Bill AB2683 into law ending the state’s practice of allowing vehicles that turn 30 years old to become exempt from smog testing. The new law, which went into effect January 1, 2005, requires non-exempt vehicles from model year 1976 and newer to be smog tested.
  4. Registration Renewals: No smog test is required for an owner renewing their registration for a vehicle that is six registration years old or newer. They will, however, have to pay an annual smog abatement fee of $12.00 when renewing their registration.
  5. Transfers of Vehicles Four Model Years Old or Less: Vehicles four model years old or less no longer require smog tests. However, DMV still requires the dealer to collect a “Smog Transfer Fee” of $8.00 for these vehicles.
  6. Hybrid Vehicles: Hybrids which use both gasoline and electricity power are exempt from smog testing until January 1, 2011. This includes transfers.
  7. Inter Family Member Transfer: A smog certificate is not needed where the transferor is a parent, grandparent, sibling, child, grandchild or spouse of the transferee.
  8. Sole Proprietor transfer to proprietor individually: Where the transfer is from a sole proprietor to the proprietor individually as the owner, no smog certificate is necessary.
  9. Collector Vehicles: The new, 2005, legislation also exempts collector cars from portions of the smog test required by Health and Safety Code section 44012 when they become 35 years old or older. This takes effect in 2011 when 1976 model vehicles become 35 years old. So there is still some hope for us collector car fans!
  10. Other Exceptions:
    1. "Title Only" or "Transfer Only" applications. A smog certificate is then required only upon registration or renewal of registration.
    2. Diesel
    3. Motorcycles
    4. Two cycle vehicles

Previous Section     Next Section